Castalian String Quartet
wins Merito String Quartet Award

The Castalian String Quartet, which has been chosen as the winner of the first Merito String Quartet Award from among the five best-qualified quartets, is a young group based in London. The prize has been awarded at the Wiener Konzerthaus in April 2018.
The Award sets new standards in the field, as the quartets cannot submit applications but are instead “observed” by a jury in numerous concerts over a lengthy period of time, without their knowledge.

Dr. Wolfgang Habermayer, founder of the Merito String Instruments Trust, and Valentin Erben, founding member of the Alban Berg Quartet, initiated the prize. It will be presented to young string quartet groups whose musicians focus exclusively on playing in their quartets, are not older than 35 years of age, have already given concerts in the European region, but have not yet experienced a crucial leap in their careers. The winning quartet will be professionally accompanied and supported for four years to secure success on the international stage.
After a group of musicians, educators, event organisers and concert agencies had nominated 32 quartets, the five quartets named most often were “observed” for a year anonymously by a special jury. The aspects that were evaluated included their professional approach, repertoire, programming, the artistic quality, the imagination and innovation displayed by the musicians and their artistic career to date.
Valentin Erben as chairman and the following members formed the jury:
Irvine Arditti (Arditti Quartet), Isabel Charisius (Alban Berg Quartett), Krysztof Chorzelski (Belcea Quartet) and Heime Müller (formerly Artemis Quartett).

The Award

The Award includes prize money of €20,000 for artistic development expenses. In addition, a budget of €25,000 is available for professional sound recordings and a composition commission. The prize will be awarded at the Wiener Konzerthaus, where the winning quartet will also be integrated into a chamber music subscription series. The premiere will take place here as well. Further performances will follow in other selected European concert halls.

Valentin Erben Prize

In addition, Valentin Erben will loan four high-quality string instruments made by Greiner, if required.

Partner

he Wiener Konzerthaus is an important partner of this initiative. Ever since it was established, the Wiener Konzerthausgesellschaft has always played a significant role in the string quartet tradition. The establishment still remains the home of world-renowned string quartets such as the Artemis Quartett and the Belcea Quartet.
Another partner is Impresariat Simmenauer, which is based in Berlin.

The Castalian String Quartet

www.castalianstringquartet.com

Sini Simonen – Violine (Finnland)
Daniel Roberts – Violine (England)
Charlotte Bonneton – Viola (Frankreich)
Christopher Graves – Cello (England)

The Castalian Quartet, formed in 2011, is rapidly emerging as an exciting voice on the international chamber music scene. In 2016 they were the only European quartet to progress to the live rounds of the Banff International Quartet Competition where they won 3rd Prize.  Previous awards include 1st Prize at the 2015 Lyon and 2013 Kammermusik Hannover Competitions.

Engagements this season include performances of the complete Haydn Op. 76 Quartets at Wigmore Hall, and concerts in the Tel Aviv Museum of Art, Heidelberger Frühling Festival, and Zwischentöne Festival in Engelberg. Further afield they tour China, the US, Canada and Colombia.

They were selected by Young Classical Artists Trust (YCAT) in 2016 and in 2018 won a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship Award.

Scroll Up

Castalian String Quartet gewinnt
Merito String Quartet Award

Mit dem Castalian String Quartet gewinnt ein junges, in London angesiedeltes Quartett, das sich unter den fünf bestqualifizierten Quartetten behaupten konnte, den ersten Merito String Quartet Award. Der Preis wurde im April 2018 im Wiener Konzerthaus verliehen. Der Award setzt insofern neue Maßstäbe, als die Quartette sich nicht bewerben können, sondern ohne deren Wissen von einer Jury über einen längeren Zeitraum hindurch in zahlreichen Konzerten „beobachtet“ werden.

Dr. Wolfgang Habermayer, Gründer der Merito String Instruments Trust GmbH und Valentin Erben, Gründungsmitglied des Alban Berg Quartetts, haben den Preis initiiert. Dieser soll jungen Streichquartettformationen zugutekommen, die sich voll dem Quartettspiel verschrieben haben, nicht über 35 Jahre alt sind, bereits eine Konzerttätigkeit im europäischen Raum nachweisen können, aber noch nicht den entscheidenden Karrieresprung vollziehen konnten. Das Siegerquartett wird nun über vier Jahre professionell begleitet und unterstützt, damit es auch auf der internationalen Bühne erfolgreich ist.
Nachdem eine Gruppe von Musikern, Pädagogen, Veranstaltern und Konzertagenten 32 Quartette nominiert hatten, wurden die fünf meist genannten Quartette von einer gesonderten Jury ein Jahr lang anonym „beobachtet“. Bewertet wurde die Professionalität, das Repertoire, die Programmgestaltung, die künstlerische Qualität, die Fantasie und Innovation der Musikerinnen und Musiker und der bisherige künstlerische Werdegang.
Neben Valentin Erben als Vorsitzender, gehören der Jury folgende Mitwirkende an:
Irvine Arditti (Arditti Quartet), Isabel Charisius (Alban Berg Quartett), Krysztof Chorzelski (Belcea Quartet) und Heime Müller (vormals Artemis Quartett).

Der Award

Der Award ist verbunden mit einem Preisgeld in der Höhe von EUR 20.000.-, das für die künstlerische Entwicklung zweckgebunden ist. Darüber hinaus steht ein Budget von EUR 25.000.- für professionelle Ton-Aufnahmen und die Vergabe eines Kompositionsauftrages zur Verfügung. Die Preisverleihung und eine Eingliederung des Siegerquartetts in eine kammermusikalische Abonnementserie erfolgen im Wiener Konzerthaus. Auch die Uraufführung wird hier stattfinden. Weitere Auftritte werden in anderen ausgewählten europäischen Konzerthäusern folgen.

Valentin Erben Prize

Zusätzlich stellt Valentin Erben dem Siegerquartett 2018, bei Bedarf, vier hochwertige, aus dem Atelier Greiner stammende Streichinstrumente zur Verfügung.

Partner

Ein wichtiger Partner der Initiative ist das Wiener Konzerthaus. Seit ihrer Gründung hatte die Wiener Konzerthausgesellschaft stets einen bedeutenden Anteil an der Tradition des Streichquartetts. Bis heute ist sie die Heimstätte weltweit herausragender Streichquartette wie dem Artemis Quartett und dem Belcea Quartet. Ein weiterer Partner ist das Impresariat Simmenauer in Berlin.

Das Castalian String Quartet

www.castalianstringquartet.com

Sini Simonen – Violine (Finnland)
Daniel Roberts – Violine (England)
Charlotte Bonneton – Viola (Frankreich)
Christopher Graves – Cello (England)

Das 2011 gegründete Castalian Quartet ist dabei, sich rasch als interessante, neue Stimme in der internationalen Kammermusikszene zu etablieren. 2016 schaffte es die Formation als einziges europäisches Quartett bis in die Live-Runden des Internationalen Streichquartettwettbewerbs in Banff, wo sie schließlich den 3. Preis gewann.  Zuvor war sie unter anderem 2015 in Lyon und 2013 in Hannover jeweils mit dem 1. Preis der dortigen Kammermusikwettbewerbe ausgezeichnet worden.

Engagements in dieser Saison umfassen die Aufführung der kompletten Haydn Quartette Op. 76 in der Wigmore Hall und Konzerte im Museum of Art in Tel Aviv sowie am Heidelberger Frühling Festival und am Zwischentöne Festival in Engelberg. Weitere Tourneen führen nach China, in die USA, nach Kanada und Kolumbien.

Es wurde 2016 vom Young Classical Artists Trust (YCAT) ausgewählt und gewann 2018 einen Fellowship Award des Borletti-Buitoni Trusts.
Scroll Up